The Tribune Democrat, Johnstown, PA

September 28, 2011

Slapshot Cup expands to 18 teams in second year

Mike Mastovich

JOHNSTOWN — The Slapshot Cup Hockey Tournament has expanded for its second year in Johnstown.

The age 25-and-over event will field 18 teams in three divisions with games being played Friday through Sunday at Cambria County War Memorial Arena and Planet Ice. Admission to all games is free.

“It was great last year and we built on that,” said tournament director Josh Piro, the former Johnstown Chiefs forward and four-time state champion with the Bishop McCort High School hockey program. “This year I had more time to prepare and more people became involved and volunteered this year. With the success from last year it was easier to get teams. Everybody wanted to get involved.”

The number of teams increased by four this year. That will translate into approximately 300 hockey players hitting the ice this weekend, an increase of about 50 skaters from 2010.

“A lot of the original Chiefs are going to be coming back,” Piro said. “Even more than last year.

“Rob Hrytsak will be back, Scott Rettew. Rick Boyd is playing again. A few of the newer guys will be back. Brock Kelly from the original team is supposed to come. So will Joe DeMitchell, Jeff Salzbrunn, Ryan Petz, Joe Tallari and Jean Desrochers.

“Mike Rodrigues and Jim Leger are former Chiefs who will come back and play for Boston because they live up there. (Pittsburgh native and former Chief) Mark Scally will be a goalie.”

Ten teams will play in the 25-and-over division: British Columbia Chiefs Alumni; Boston Massacre; Delaware; Detroit; Elmira, N.Y.; Indiana; Johnstown; Massachusetts Storm; Richmond, Va.; and Toronto, Ontario.

The 40-plus division has teams from: Johnstown; New Jersey; Pittsburgh; and a squad representing Pennsylvania.

The 50-and-over division includes Elmira, Indiana, Johnstown and New York.


To read stories in their entirety, visit one of these links:

Click here to subscribe to The Tribune-Democrat print edition.

Click here to subscribe to The Tribune-Democrat