The Tribune Democrat, Johnstown, PA

Features

January 18, 2014

Regional, local writers pen books

Writers in the region and locally have been working on novels, children’s books and nonfiction subjects.

In “A Measure of Blood,” the latest crime novel/police thriller by Johnstown native Kathleen George, Cmdr. Richard Christie and his squad return with a case involving a single mother who is brutally murdered, her 7-year-old son and the murderer, who insists he is the boy’s father.

It is available for $11.80 for paperback and $10 for Kindle on amazon.com.

With the 125th anniversary of the 1889 Johnstown Flood being observed in May, another novel by George,  “The Johnstown Girls,” will be released in April.

In this fictional tale, the last living survivor of the flood is interviewed at 103, still certain her twin sister, who went missing on that day, is alive.

It is available for preorder for $20 for paperback on amazon.com.

“Alicia’s Dream House” by Barbara Mattes of Upper Yoder Township is her first novel about a young girl with the dream of her family being together again in their dream house.

It is illustrated by Stephen Mrosko and is available for $4.99 for Kindle on amazon.com.

“Christmas at Glosser’s” by Robert Jeschonek of Johnstown is a novel set in Johns-town in 1975, centering on the Glosser Bros. department store.

It is available for $7 for paperback and $3 for Kindle on amazon.com.

“The First Noelle” by Blair Murphy of Windber is a Christmas story set in Johnstown and Windber, written in the tradition of “A Christmas Carol” and “It’s a Wonderful Life.”

It is available for $8 for paperback and 99 cents for Kindle on amazon.com

“Maxwell, the Raindrop Who Wouldn’t Fall” by Joseph Moore of Johnstown is a picture book about a raindrop that wants to be a bird, a flower or a rainbow, but comes to understand it’s important to be yourself.

The book is illustrated by Jaclyn Donnelly and is available for $10 at Johnstown stores, including Chameleon Books and Blaine Boring, and on amazon.com.

“Penelope Skunk has Junk in her Trunk” by M.R. Hooley of Mahaffey is a hardcover children’s picture book in the rhyming tradition of Dr. Seuss.

It is available for $19.95 at www.hooleybooks.com and amazon.com.

Eva M. Sakmar-Sullivan, a former Johnstown resident who now lives in Hayes, Va., has written and illustrated two hard cover children’s picture books.

 In “Willie the Taxi Cat,” children will learn to count from 1 to 10 and identify sound-alike sounds through the names of the characters.

In “The Silly Looking Thing,” children will learn about tolerance and the importance of looking past differences when making friends through the eyes of a little frog.

The book also includes information about a frog’s life from tadpole to frog.

Both books are available for $16.99 at www.schifferbooks.com.

“Willie the Taxi Cat” is available for $14.80 and “The Silly Looking Thing” for $11.68 on amazon.com.

“A More Excellent Way” by the Rev. Noah Martin of Johnstown is a marriage manual designed to strengthen good marriages and to give hope to troubled ones.

It is available directly from the author at 266-6489 and from New Day Inc. at  535-8202.

“The Four C’s of Successful Teaching: Consistency, Contingency, Compassion and Courage” by veteran educator B.C. Tozer of Berlin is a resource book for teachers.

He offers insight and options for interaction and application of his four C’s to school administration, students, parents and the teacher.

It is available for $18 for paperback and $10 for digital on amazon.com.

“Writing from Left to Right: My Journey from Liberal to Conservative” by Johnstown native Michael Novak is a memoir of how he changed his mind politically over the years after time spent in wartime Vietnam, the student riots of the 1960s, the Reagan revolution, the collapse of the Berlin Wall, Bill Clinton’s welfare reform and the struggles for human rights in Iraq and Afghanistan.

He also spent time with leaders such as Sargent Shriver, Bobby Kennedy, George McGovern, Jack Kemp, President Ronald Reagan, Margaret Thatcher and Pope John Paul II, who helped shape and reshape his political views.

It is available for $24 for hardcover and $12 for ebook at imagecatholicbooks.com and for $18 for hardcover and $10 for Kindle on amazon.com.

The children’s book “Mascot With the Ascot” by Cory Benjamin Geishauser of Altoona, who portrayed Steamer, the sports mascot for the Altoona Curve, is the story of Bryce, a mascot in search of the perfect costume.

It is available for $12 for hardcover on amazon.com.

“Dick & Jimmy’s Adventures at Glen Afton” by Fred Corbin of Hollidaysburg is a first novel set on the Juniata River during the Great Depression, using historical references to central Pennsylvania and the Pennsylvania Railroad.

This coming-of-age story about two friends is available for $9.79 for paperback and $4.99 for Kindle on amazon.com.

“Brave Girls of Riverside” by Patricia Noll of Monroeville, formerly of the Riverside section of Johnstown, is an adventure story taking place in Riverside around 1948, involving two sisters and their cousin.

The novel is available for $4.99 for Kindle on amazon.com.

“Love’s Ebb” by Heidi Bardelang of Altoona is a romance novel about a woman who starts secretly seeing her boss, who is married, then accepts a job in her hometown, where she begins a relationship with her best friend’s brother.

It is available for $14.99 for paperback or $10.99 for digital at www.tatepublishing.com/book  store or for $12.70 on amazon.com.

“Hope Rising” by Amy Spade of the State College area, originally from Portage, is a young adult coming-of-age novel about a young girl who has secrets to keep.

It is available for $1.99 for Kindle on www.amazon.com.

“The Novelty Essays” by Johnstown native Adam Matcho of Apollo is a collection of humorous essays written while he was working at a novelty store, going to college, newly married and a new father.

It is available for $13.46 for paperback and $5.99 for Kindle on amazon.com.

Ruth Rice covers Features for The Tribune-Democrat. Follow her on Twitter at Twitter.com/RuthRiceTD.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Features
  • Boston doctors can now prescribe you a bike

    The City of Boston this week is rolling out a new program that's whimsically known as "Prescribe-a-Bike." Part medicine, part welfare, the initiative allows doctors at Boston Medical Center to write "prescriptions" for low-income patients to get yearlong memberships to Hubway, the city's bike-share system, for only $5.

    April 16, 2014

  • treadmill-very-fast.jpg Tax deduction for a gym membership?

    April marks another tax season when millions of Americans will deduct expenses related to home ownership, children and education from their annual tax bill. These deductions exist because of their perceived value to society; they encourage behaviors that keep the wheels of the economy turning. So why shouldn't the tax code be revised to reward preventive health?

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Screen shot 2014-04-11 at 4.49.09 PM.png Train, entertain your pets with these 3 smartphone apps

    While they may not have thumbs to use the phone, pets can benefit from smartphone apps designed specifically for them.

    April 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • DayCareCosts.jpg Day care's cost can exceed college tuition in some states

    Most parents will deal with an even larger kid-related expense long before college, and it's a cost that very few of them are as prepared for: day care.

    April 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Stepping forward: The real Colbert

    Letterman changed the late-night TV game between his run on NBC's "Late Night" and starting the "Late Show" franchise in 1993. And while it's tough to replace a pop-culture icon, Colbert, in terms of pedigree and sense of humor, makes the most sense.

    April 13, 2014

  • Faithful to relive Christ’s journey to the cross, ending with Easter

    April 12, 2014

  • Orthodox Christians to commemorate Lord’s passion with ritual services

    April 12, 2014

  • 10 tips for surviving a severe allergy season

    My colleague Brady Dennis reported recently that the arrival of warmer weather will soon unleash a pollen tsunami in parts of the country where the winter has been especially long and cold. Here are some survival tips from Clifford W. Bassett, an allergy specialist and assistant clinical professor of medicine at the New York University School of Medicine.

    April 11, 2014

  • Is a paleo vegetarian diet possible?

    Research shows most people can follow a regimented eating plan for a short time. That's not the challenge. The challenge is finding a healthful eating plan you can follow day after day and achieve your long-term health goals. At this point, it doesn't appear that the paleo eating plan meets these objectives for most people.

    April 11, 2014

  • VIDEO | CBS taps Colbert as Letterman’s Late Show successor

    Bloomberg’s Jon Erlichman reports that CBS has announced Stephen Colbert as its choice to replace the retiring David Letterman as host of “The Late Show” on Bloomberg Television’s “Lunch Money.”

    April 11, 2014

Poll

Do you think that Jack Williams will get the 270 signatures from city residents needed in order to have a referendum placed on a municipal ballot to have the city's pressure test mandate repealed?

Yes
No
I'm not sure
     View Results