The Tribune Democrat, Johnstown, PA

May 22, 2013

Richland Township supervisor defeated in GOP primary

Randy Griffith

JOHNSTOWN — One three-term incumbent led all candidates, but another was defeated in the Republican primary for two Richland Township supervisor seats.

Incumbent Gary Paul and former business owner Keith Saylor will be the Republican candidates in November.

The Democratic ballot listed no candidates, leaving the possibility of a write-in Democratic winner who would be announced in the coming days.

Paul received 488 votes to lead the field. Saylor’s 438 votes were enough to put him on the November ballot, defeating incumbent Jay Marsden, 335 votes, and Pitt-Johnstown police Chief Kevin Grady, 332.

“It was time for a change,” Saylor said. “There were no controversial issues; no mudslinging.”

The former partner in Saylor Brothers Hardware in Geistown has chaired Richland Township Planning Commission for more than a decade.

Paul thanked the voters for returning him to the Richland board.

Elsewhere in contested municipal primary races, two Adams Township incumbent supervisors handily defeated a challenge on the Democratic ballot.

• Supervisor William “B.J.” Smith topped the vote count with 264, followed by fellow incumbent Dennis Richards with 252. James “Mel” Moss’s challenge came up short at 145 votes.

There were no Republican candidates.

• In Geistown, Republican business owner William Schrader Jr. will face incumbent Democratic Mayor Donald P. Scott on the November ballot. Schrader topped Daniel J. Ruhe, 70-32, in the Republican mayor’s race. Scott was unopposed.

Schrader also will be one of three Republicans and two Democrats vying for four seats on Borough Council. Republicans Schrader, Joseph Matthew Sernell and Kimberly Mock, along with Democrats Frank Hauser and Brian M. Jones, were successful Tuesday.

• In a three-way race for one two-year seat on East Conemaugh Borough Council, William Stofko topped Marcy Gregorchik and Ron Ling.

Click here to subscribe to The Tribune-Democrat print edition.

Click here to subscribe to The Tribune-Democrat e-edition.