The Tribune Democrat, Johnstown, PA


December 14, 2013

Central Cambria, Richland wrestlers win titles

CRESSON — Central Cambria and Richland each had a pair of champions on Saturday in the Sheetz Holiday Classic wrestling tournament at Penn Cambria while Berlin Brothersvalley didn’t have any titlists but finished second in the team standings.

Max Murin (106 pounds) and Tom Opdenhoff (132) won championships for the Red Devils while Adam George (126) and Nico Pecora (170) captured titles for Richland. Cambria Heights heavyweight Aaron Gill was the other local winner.

Murin had a big day for the Red Devils, knocking off Altoona’s C.J. Manley, 1-0, in the semifinals and beating South Park’s Dallas Bulsak 2-0 for the 106-pound title.

Murin, a freshman, took the lead with six seconds remaining in the third when Bulsak locked his hands, then held off the South Park wrestler’s late takedown attempts for the victory.

George came from the sixth spot to win the 126-pound title. After beating second-seeded Mike Novak of Mount Pleasant in the semifinals, George stunned Berlin Brothersvalley’s Joe Swank with a second-period fall.

Swank, who pulled an upset of his own with a 6-2 victory over Forest Hills’ Triston Law in the semifinals, led George 2-0 late in the second period.

George got in on a leg attack and pinned Swank without ever being credited with a takedown.

Opdenhoff dominated Huntingdon’s Devon Green in a 17-2 victory by technical fall in the finals.

Pecora knocked off top-seeded Anthony Carter of Colonial Forge 5-0 for his title.

Gill beat Berlin’s Anthony Collins 6-1 in last final of the day.

Collins was one of four Mountaineers to finish second. Coach Jason Cornell’s team also had two third-place finishers, two fourth-place medalists as well as ones who placed fifth and seventh.

That depth helped Berlin score 197 points, but it wasn’t enough to win a second straight team title.

Huntingdon finished with 217 team points and three individual champions, including 145-pounder Jacob Oliver, who was voted the tournament’s outstanding wrestler.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
  • Shelley and McElligot Series serves as reunion for former Chiefs personnel

    Not so long ago, Bob McElligott, like most Western Pennsylvania hockey fans, would savor a long Pittsburgh Penguins playoff run.
    The Somerset native followed the Pens’ Stanley Cup-winning teams in 1991 and 1992.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Malkin nearing return

    The Columbus Blue Jackets are the closest NHL team to the Pittsburgh Penguins, at least geographically. The two franchises are separated by 185 miles of highway.

    April 15, 2014

  • Reds swing way past Pirates

    Mike Leake doubled and hit a two-run homer Tuesday night, ending Gerrit Cole's winning streak and leading the Cincinnati Reds to a 7-5 victory over the Pittsburgh Pirates that completed two days full of homers and delays.
    First, the NL Central rivals completed a game that was suspended in the sixth inning because of rain the previous night.

    April 15, 2014

  • Pitt ends its spring practices

    No tailgating.
    No trip to a local high school.

    April 15, 2014

  • Pirates Game 1 0415 Pirates edge out Reds in suspended game

    After all those home runs and an overnight delay, it was settled by a single.
    Andrew McCutchen doubled and came around on Russell Martin’s single in the seventh inning on Tuesday, giving the Pittsburgh Pirates an 8-7 victory over the Cincinnati Reds in the completion of a game that spanned two days and 10 home runs.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • track_B1 WestPAC relays go to Windber boys, Berlin girls

    Rain showers and dropping temperatures put a damper on Monday’s WestPAC Relays at Berlin Brothersvalley High School.
    For the Berlin girls and the boys from Windber, however, discomfort was not much of a factor.
    The Mountaineers won their third straight relay title while the Ramblers reclaimed the title from defending champ Shade.

    April 14, 2014 2 Photos

  • Penguins 0414 Pressure on Penguins to capture Cup

    The statistics are gaudy.
    And if the Pittsburgh Penguins can’t find a way to extend their season into the final days of spring, ultimately forgettable.
    The same team that led the NHL in man games lost due to injury (more than 500) also earned 109 points, led the Metropolitan Division from mid-October on and received another peerless effort from star Sidney Crosby, who topped the league with 104 points and is a near lock for the second MVP award of his career.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Local High School Baseball and Softball Briefs 4-15-14

    April 14, 2014

  • Local Sports Briefs 4-15-14

    April 14, 2014

  • mccort0413 color Bishop McCort falls to Bethel Park at PNC Park

    April 14, 2014 2 Photos

AP Sports Video

Should the NFL get rid of the extra-point attempt after a touchdown?

     View Results
Order Photos

Photo Slideshow