The Tribune Democrat, Johnstown, PA


December 21, 2012

Red Raiders crown 5 WestPAC champs

BOSWELL — Meyersdale’s wrestling program hasn’t consistently been in the spotlight for nearly two decades.

If the Red Raiders continue to perform like they did on Friday at the WestPAC Tournament at North Star, that could change soon.

Meyersdale crowned a tournament-best five champions in the event, which does not keep team standings.

Chadd Sines, the Red Raiders coach, isn’t worried about his team getting too many accolades.

“That’s fine by me,” he said. “Please, keep overlooking us. I don’t like the expectations. We’re a small school, like some of the other ones. We’ll stay under the radar. That’s fine with me.”

Meyersdale wrestlers won three of the four lowest weights, with Trevor Thomas (106 pounds), Billy Charlton (113) and Collin Day (120) capturing titles in the pool-style tournament.

“They really came through,” Sines said of his lightweights. “Collin and Billy are really seasoned. They know how to win. Trevor Thomas, our 106-pounder, is learning. Hat’s off to him. He can somehow just get it done. He’s not the most technically sound, but he has a will to win.”

Gavin Berkley won the 182-pound crown after claiming the 160-pound championship last season, to become one of just three wrestlers to capture a second title in the two-year-old tournament.

“He’s very determined,” Sines said. “He’s a fabulous worker. He puts in more time than any of the guys I have on the team. He’s a machine. From a work ethic standpoint, he does not stop.”

Justin Dunmyer was the Red Raiders’ final champion, as he won at 285 pounds.

Despite his team’s success, Sines isn’t content.

“We’ve got some adjustments to make,” he said. “It was a good day, but we’ve got to keep moving forward.”

Conemaugh Township’s Cahill brothers were the other repeat champions. Tanner Cahill won the same 145-pound title he did a season ago, while his younger brother, Taylor, captured the 152-pound crown – two weights above where he did it in February.

Berlin Brothersvalley had the second-most champions, with four. Joey Swank (120), Chris Miller (132), Bryce Fochtman (160) and Stew Trulick (195) won titles for the Mountaineers. Miller tied the county’s all-time record for fastest fall, pinning Shade’s Collin Jarosyk in 5 seconds.

North Star had a pair of champions in Tevin Mostoller, who won what was arguably the toughest weight – 138 pounds – while teammate Levi Albright captured the 220-pound title.

“I thought Tevin Mostoller wrestled a very solid tournament,” North Star coach Tim Rosa said. “He’s been very workmanlike all year, nothing flashy, just a solid, solid wrestler.

“Levi Albright didn’t wrestle at all last year,” Rosa said.

“He shows a lot of potential. He’s improving every day.”

Cody Kephart delivered Portage’s only title by winning the 170-pound pool.

Text Only | Photo Reprints